Congratulations!
A trick a day - for a year

A trick a day - for a year

I'm not 100% sure I'll be successful with this, but my New Year's Resolution is to publish a trick a day here on this blog. Some days, when I don't have access to the internet, they might appear late, but my goal is to get 365 different effects up here by Dec 31 2011.

Now this won't be my creations. In the tradition of 'Julie & Julia' they will be scoured from books. I'll be posting the effect description, and the reference, and it will be up to you to decide if you'd like to join me and learn the effects too.

Who knows, this may even get a few people interested in magic books after all, that's where the best kept secrets are hidden!

 

JANUARY 1

NAME THE FLAVOUR

'Blackstone's Tricks Anyone Can Do' (Page 122)

This is a wonderful little effect, almost impromptu, where four or five packs different flavoured Lifesavers are dropped into a glass or an ice bucket and mixed together behind the magicians back by a spectator.

Without looking, and apparently utilising some kind of sense of sight or even taste in his or her fingers, the magician is able to reach into the container and identify each of the packs correctly.

It's the sort of thing I can imagine Derren Brown doing quite masterfully.

Comments